Accolades and Accomplishments Spring 2019


  • Nursing student Madison McCauley had her research chosen for display at the annual North Carolina Organization for Nurse Leaders conference March 20-21. McCauley also won the Undergraduate Poster Award in Education at ECU’s 2019 Research and Creative Activity Week.
  • Several students had poster submissions accepted for poster presentations at the National Student Nurses’ Association conference. They are Ariel Mele, Carlie Lape, Sarah M. Kinsey, Taras Grinchak, Agne Juzumaite, Taylor Meyer, Gabriel Wood and Hayley Lantrip.
  • PhD student Suja Davis won the Best Student Poster Award in the bio-behavioral group at the Southern Nursing Research Society conference. PhD students Chandra Speight and Kristy Cook also presented scholarly work at the SNRS conference.
  • PhD students Brooke Kistler and Mitzi Pestaner joined Dean Sylvia Brown in Washington, D.C. to advocate for Title VIII nursing workforce development programs and funding for nursing research.
  • DNP student Katherine Sells was selected to present her project on creating a screening and referral process for Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) at the third annual Unified Quality Improvement Symposium.
  • Honors student Brooks Holt received the Spring 2019 Undergraduate Research & Creative Activity award.
  • BSN students Nuch Johnson and Alcious McGill were selected to participate in a 3-week study abroad experience in China.
  • Graduate student Jenny Perkins and undergraduate student Alexandria Stephens received the Daisy in Training Awards sponsored by Vidant Medical Center.

Faculty and Staff

  • Dr. Linda Bolin, Dr. Patricia Crane, Dr. Theresa Floegel, Dr. Candace Harrington, Dr. Carolyn Horne, Dr. Lee Ann Jarrett Johnson, Dr. Shannon Baker Powell, Dr. Elaine Scott, Dr. Deby Tyndall and Dr. Holly Wei presented their research and scholarly work at the 33rd annual Southern Nursing Research Society conference.
  • Dr. Michelle Skipper was selected to be inducted as a Fellow in the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. Her induction will be held in June 2019.
  • Dr. Candace Harrington and Dr. Tomika Williams were named members to the inaugural class of Distinguished Educators in Gerontological Nursing by the National Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence.
  • Dr. Amy Jnah was named as the associate editor for continuing education with The Journal of Neonatal Nursing. Dr. Jnah also authored the new book “Fetal and Neonatal Physiology for the Advanced Practice Nurse.”
  • Dr. Kathleen Sitzman co-authored a new book with Dr. Jean Watson titled “Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences.”
  • Wanda Lancaster received the ECU Creed Award for Responsibility at the 2019 Creed Awards.
  • Dr. Holly Wei was recognized as a Scholar-Teacher for the College of Nursing at the University Teaching Awards.
  • Dr. Melissa Beck was recognized as a nominee for the Robert L. Jones Award for Outstanding Teaching.
  • Alison Swift, Elizabeth Mizelle and Ginger Leake received certification as certified nurse educators.
  • Staff member Scott Eaves received certification to become a Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator.
  • Faculty emeriti Dr. Martha Alligood was inducted into the ECU College of Nursing Hall of Fame on March 15.
  • Faculty members Wendy Bridgers, Elizabeth Mizelle, Dr. Renee Spain and Dr. Tomika Williams received the Daisy Award.
  • Thank you to Dr. Carol Winters Thornburg and Dr. Diana Bond for their service in the College of Nursing and best wishes for a happy retirement!


  • Seven alumni were inducted into the ECU College of Nursing Hall of Fame on March 15. They are: Kimberly Hardy, Janet Tillman, Laurel Molloy, Sharon Isenhour Sarvey, Kimberly Crickmore Osborne, Janet Moye and Elsie Spencer.
  • Alumna Sue Collier received the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award at the College of Nursing Hall of Fame ceremony on May 15.
  • Alumna Dr. Daphne Brewington, (BSN ’90, MSN ’98, PhD ’13), was promoted to Vice President for Education and Professional Development at Vidant Medical Center.