Accolades and Accomplishments Spring 2020

Faculty and Staff

  • Associate professor Dr. Pamela Reis was selected as a UNC Faculty Assembly Alternate for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2020.
  • Assistant professor Dr. Melissa Beck has been invited to present as Florence Nightingale during an International Nursing Day event at Nova University of Applied Sciences in Vaasa, Finland on May 12.
  • The book “Caring Science, Mindful Practice” by Dr. Jean Watson and professor Dr. Kathleen Sitzman has now been published in four languages: English, Chinese, Spanish and Italian.
  • CON-CAHS Research Administration Hub director and grants manager Latoya Sahadeo was named a 40 Under Forty Leadership Award recipient for the class of 2020.
  • Clinical professor Dr. Gina Woody was selected as a member of the university’s 2020 Leadership Development Academy cohort.
  • Assistant professor Dr. Charleen McNeill was elected to serve as the communications director for the Southern Nursing Research Society for a two-year term beginning March 20, 2020.
  • Faculty members Dr. Donna Lake, Dr. Gina Woody, along with Laura Bliley and Cynthia Mayo, were honored for their community work during and after Hurricane Dorian at the AARP “Night of Inspiration” event on Nov. 15, 2019.
  • Faculty members Dr. Susan Kidd, Alison Swift and Jeanne Martin were selected to present “Accelerated but effective: The clinical competency of second-degree accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing students” at the Nursing Education Research Conference March 26-28 in Washington.
  • Faculty members Dr. Deborah Tyndall and Dr. Shannon Powell were selected to present “Good friends are hard to find: Promoting peer review among doctoral students through critical friends” at the Nursing Education Research Conference March 26-28 in Washington.
  • Faculty member Dr. Debra Kosko was recognized for her work building the membership of the North Carolina Immunization Coalition in which she serves as the chair.
  • Assistant library professor and liaison librarian to the College of Nursing Amanda Haberstroh and clinical assistant professor Wendy Bridgers and were invited to present “The Liaison Librarian’s Role in Supporting a Diversity Initiative: Developing a Black History Month Exhibit in a College of Nursing” at the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Medical Library Association annual meeting in Oct. 2019. Haberstroh was also honored with the MAC Award for Professional Excellence by a New Health Sciences Librarian at the meeting.


  • Charlie Fallon (BSN ’19), RN at McLeod Health Seacoast ICU in Little River, S.C., received a Healthcare Hero award recognizing his exemplary patient care.
  • Five College of Nursing alumni were named as ECU 40 Under 40 Leadership Award recipients for the Class of 2020. They are Jeff Ainsworth (’04), Ann Bell (’12), Ashley Elks (’11), Dr. Thompson Forbes (’12, ’17) and Amanda Sawyer (’03).
  • Dee Dinsdale (BSN ’04), was named Chief Nursing Officer at Greenville Veteran Affairs Health Care Center.
  • Dr. Sharona Johnson (MSN ’05, PhD ’17) was invited to be the keynote speaker at the College of Nursing’s Black History Month celebration on Feb. 6. She also joined in a roundtable discussion with five other alumni and College of Nursing director of student development & counseling Gwendolyn Tyson. The participating alumni were Mecca Bowser (BSN ’16), Dr. Daphne Brewington (BSN ’90, MSN ’98, PhD ’13), Felicia Collins (BSN ’94, MSN ’06), Dr. Kimberly Hardy (BSN ’91, MSN ’01, DNP ’17) and Courtney Warner (BSN ’19).
  • Sixteen Pirate Nurses were honored as Great 100 Nurses of North Carolina in 2019. They are: Kelly Allis (MSN ’06), Mary Bowers (DNP ’17), Catherine Bunch (BSN ’94, MSN ’15), Jennifer Dennis (BSN ’01), Julia Dixon (BSN ’77), Tiffany Ellis (BSN ’12), Trina Gatling (MSN ’10), Kathy Gilbert (BSN ’92), Jessica Holmes (BSN ’13), Tracy Langston (MSN ’16), Angela Lee (BSN ’98, MSN ’18), Jean Matthews (MSN ’78), Barbara Moore (BSN ’13), Chelsea Passwater (BSN ’11, MSN ’17), Cynthia Simmons (BSN ’93) and Sherry Tate (BSN ’91).

Keep us posted! Alumni, please send updates about your career accomplishments along with your preferred name and graduation year(s) to